Michigan State Senate Races – 2018

All 38 senate seats in the Michigan Legislature will be decided during the 2018 midterm elections. Members of the Michigan State Senate are term limited.  Like the Governor, Secretary of State, and Attorney General, they can only serve two (2) four-year terms in office.

The filing deadline for senate candidates in Michigan is April 24, 2018. The primary election is August 7, 2018, while the general election will be November 6, 2018.

The last day voters can register for August primary is July 9, 2018. The last day voters can register for the November general election is October 9, 2018.

Click here to see complete list of State of Michigan's election dates and filing requirements for federal and state elective offices.

Four districts – 31st , 32nd, 33rd and 36th – comprise the central and Bay area regions of the state. Click here to view a statewide map of all 38 districts as passed by the Michigan Legislature on June 29, 2011.

The following senate candidates have filed with the Michigan Secretary of State's office. All are listed in alphabetical order.

Michigan's 31st Senate District includes Bay, Lapeer, and Tuscola Counties

Democratic Candidates

Cynthia Luczak, Bay City, Bay County Clerk


Republican Candidates

Kevin Daley, Lum, former state reprsentative 82nd House district

Gary Glenn, formerly a Michigan congressperson for the 98th District


Michigan's 32nd Senate District includes Saginaw County and the following areas in Genesee County: Argentine Twp., Clayton Twp., Fenton Twp., Flushing, Flushing Twp., Gaines Twp., Linden, Montrose, and Montrose Twp.

Democratic Candidates

Henry Gaudreau, Burt, retired Director of the Air Force 448th Propulsion Sustainment Group, VP of international construction firm


Republican Candidates


Michigan's 33rd Senate District includes Clare, Gratiot, Isabella, Mecosta, and Montcalm Counties


Democratic Candidates

Mark Bignell, Lifetime blue collar worker 


Republican Candidates


Michigan's 36th Senate District includes Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Gladwin, Iosco, Midland, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, and Presque Isle Counties


Democratic Candidates


Republican Candidates

Jim Stamas, Incumbent


Please share this candidate information with your family, friends and neighbors.  Their vote also matters! 

Click here to complete a State of Michigan Voter Registration Application and Michigan Driver License/Personal Identification Card.